Legal Description: Part Lot 7, Concession 2, Division G
The complete exterior of the original building, including the walls, the shape and form of the building and its roof, windows and building details.
This unique combination of architectural styles in a substantial brick building fronts on the campus green of the University of Guelph. The building was designed by architect G.M. Miller of Toronto, begun in 1901 and opened in 1903. It is of red pressed brick with trim and foundation of Credit Valley Brownstone and was constructed to house a library with stacks for 75,000 volumes, reading and meeting rooms, and offices. A gift from the trustees of the Hart A. Massey Estate, W.E. Massey, Chester Daniel Massey and Lillian Massey-Tremble, this was the first such donation from a private source to the Province of Ontario. The designation applies to the entire exterior of the building.