

# Minutes of Guelph City Council Meeting as the Striking Committee Held in the Council Chambers, Guelph City Hall on Monday, December 2, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.

#### Attendance

Council: Mayor Farbridge Councillor C. Guthrie

Councillor B. Bell Councillor J. Hofland
Councillor L. Burcher Councillor M. Laidlaw
Councillor T. Dennis Councillor L. Piper

Councillor I. Findlay

Councillor A. Van Hellemond

Councillor J. Furfaro Councillor K. Wettstein

Absent: Councillor Kovach

Staff: Ms. A. Pappert, Chief Administrative Officer

Ms. J. Laird, Executive Director, Planning & Building, Engineering and Environment

Ms. T. Agnello, Deputy Clerk

Ms. D. Black, Council Committee Coordinator

**Call to Order** (6:30 p.m.)

Mayor Farbridge called the meeting to order.

# **Disclosure of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof**

There was no disclosure.

### **Audit Committee**

 Moved by Councillor Dennis Seconded by Councillor Findlay

That Councillor Guthrie be appointed Chair of the Audit Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12)
VOTING AGAINST: (0)

CARRIED

2. Moved by Councillor Hofland Seconded by Councillor Findlay

That Councillor Burcher be appointed Vice Chair of the Audit Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

CARRIED

## Community & Social Services Committee

 Moved by Councillor Findlay Seconded by Councillor Laidlaw

That Councillor Dennis be appointed Chair of the Community & Social Services Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

**CARRIED** 

4. Moved by Councillor Dennis Seconded by Councillor Laidlaw

That Councillor Van Hellemond be appointed Vice Chair of the Community & Social Services Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

**CARRIED** 

# Corporate Administration, Finance & Enterprise Committee

Moved by Councillor Laidlaw Seconded by Councillor Burcher

That Councillor Hofland be appointed Chair of the Corporate Administration, Finance & Enterprise Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

CARRIFD

6. Moved by Councillor Guthrie Seconded by Councillor Wettstein

That Councillor Burcher be appointed Vice Chair of the Corporate Administration, Finance & Enterprise Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

**CARRIED** 

# Operations, Transit & Emergency Services Committee

7. Moved by Councillor Burcher Seconded by Councillor Bell

That Councillor Findlay be appointed Chair of the Operations, Transit & Emergency Services Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (11) VOTING AGAINST: Councillor Findlay (1)

**CARRIED** 

8. Moved by Councillor Burcher Seconded by Councillor Hofland

That Councillor Furfaro be appointed Vice Chair of the Operations, Transit & Emergency Services Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

**CARRIED** 

# Planning, Building, Engineering & Environment Committee

 Moved by Councillor Laidlaw Seconded by Councillor Burcher

That Councillor Bell be appointed Chair of the Planning, Building, Engineering & Environment Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

CARRIFD

10. Moved by Councillor Hofland Seconded by Councillor Guthrie

That Councillor Laidlaw be appointed Vice Chair of the Planning, Building, Engineering & Environment Committee for the year 2014.

VOTING IN FAVOUR: Mayor Farbridge, Councillors Bell, Burcher, Dennis Findlay, Furfaro, Guthrie, Hofland, Laidlaw, Piper, Van Hellemond and Wettstein (12) VOTING AGAINST: (0)

**CARRIED** 

Adjo	urnment (6:43 p.m.)	
11.	Moved by Councillor Guthrie Seconded by Councillor Furfaro	
	That the meeting be adjourned.	CARRIED
Minu	tes to be confirmed on December 16, 2013.	
		Mayor Farbridge
		Deputy Clerk