75 Cardigan Street
Guelph, Ontario, N1H 3Z7
- May be reserved for performances or other events
- Hydro is available
- It will hold up to 160 persons.
- Public washrooms are available in 75 Cardigan Street adjacent to the Mill
For more information call 519-837-5678.
The former Goldie Mill site is one of the most historic manufacturing locations in the City. In 1827 David Gilkison, cousin of John Galt, built a saw mill here beside the Speed River. Doctors W. Clarke and H. Orton built the “Wellington Mills” in 1845. After a fire, the mills were rebuilt in stone in 1850 and renamed the “People’s Mills”.
They burned again in 1864 and James Goldie purchased the property in 1866, extensively enlarging the stone buildings in 1867. The flour mills continued to expand under the direction of the Goldie family until sold in 1918. The mill operated until a spring flood in 1929 carried away the dam. Most of the structure was unused since a serious fire in 1953.
In the 19th Century, the manufacturing complex included a foundry, a sawmill, cooperage, distillery, piggery and tannery. Its growth contributed significantly to the growth and prosperity of Guelph.
Among the unique architectural features of the masonry construction of the thick stone walls were the double-reinforced stone lintels, an unusual type of construction in Ontario. The most impressive remaining section of the structure was built in 1867 with quarry-faced limestone. All stone was quarried on the mill property.
The historical designation covers all masonry construction which survives after the 1983 stabilization project, the ninety-foot brick chimney as well as the surrounding property as purchased by Grand River Conservation Authority in March, 1976.